Dilemma of existence


He said with a trembling smile
“Maybe one day I’ll find
That thing that scores of philosophers before us have pondered on
That which puzzled them endlessly till their last second”

He stared back at me, he knew I didn’t believe it
“What is IT exactly?” I ask you my friend
“I wish I knew, I wish they knew” he softly said
“But we all know in the pit of our souls, we all yearn for it”

“Beyond happiness, beyond love, beyond peace
I know many doubt that it even exists
But I know it my friend, I feel it calling loud and clear
Like mysteries at the start of fairy tales, like the full stop at the end of a prophecy”

“Well”, I said as I grabbed my soon to be empty glass
“May we never suffer the same fate as the philosophers before us”

Leave a Reply

