Melancholy reborn


I can’t shake the feeling that I’m going to die young
Oh my mortal soul! be naive and happy, free as the day!
So excuse me if I talk with a hasty pace
Or stare off into the bleakness of space

In my mind I’m still fighting for tomorrow’s blue skies
And sun rays today, or maybe floating away
I’m digging my way to the center of the earth for a cradle
Then maybe, just maybe I’ll emerge reborn

I used to look to the future and see a plethora of images
Now all I see is a fizzy blitz of bright lights
I’m untethered, chasing moments and loving every wink of time
My mortality stares at me like a child in awe

Leave a Reply

