The dilemma of Alice


I feel like a child walking through a maize field
All I can see is my trail of stomped stalks behind me
Wandering, knowing on the other side there’s freedom and openness
Yet with the nagging dispair that this ordeal is endless

Every once in a while I look up to the beautiful sky
Then I say, “It will only be beautiful once I make it out”
Beauty and dispair residing in the same pocket of time
Passing each other like strangers in a crowded market

I frantically and relentlessly tunnel my way through the field
This is my wonderland, I call it the dilemma of Alice
I’ll make it a wonderful story, I’ll make it a beautiful tale
The dilemma of Alice, to grab the cat’s tail
          and float away

One thought on “The dilemma of Alice

Leave a Reply

