City cars


I used to love to slip into a drunken stupor or an euphoric haze
And listen to that tune over and over again
Just to somehow in my mind sculpt out your face
From a ocean creek of piled memories steadily floating to the surface

While I lay in my bed singing those tunes as the cars wizzed by on the streets below. Those strings and keys took me to an alternate reality where things were bearably more interesting, yet my flesh confined to the agony of want.

So now I sit outside watching the cars wizz by
Maybe holding a hand or folding my arms
Either way slightly lucid with an unfakeable smile
And realise that these are the better times I used to fantasize about

Only this time, the faces happier and the hearts beating steady.

Leave a Reply

